About The Young Eagles

Young Eagles Logo EAAThe Experimental Aircraft Association‘s Young Eagles program was officially launched on May 13, 1992 at a news conference in Washington DC.  Since then more than 42,000 member pilots have flown over 1.5 million youngsters from more than 90 countries.  On Thursday, November 13, 2003, the Young Eagle program registered the one millionth Young Eagle and on December 17, 2003 the 1 million flight goal was met.  The program continues to fly young people, without cost, in communities across the world.

Notable national chairmen serving the program include actor Cliff Roberstson, US Airforce Major Chuck Yeager, Harrison Ford, Capt. Chelsey “Sully” Sullenberger and his first officer Jeff Skiles.

The local Tamiami Chapter 620 of  the EAA still flies youth through their Young Eagles program.  For information about Young Eagle upcoming events please click here.

← Back